Skip to content

Morning Song – Stand By Me Father

September 4, 2016

Mike Stoller might say differently, but pretty much every everyone who grew up on gospel music in the 1950s agrees that Ben E. King’s monumental “Stand By Me” is a descendant of the gospel song, “Stand By Me Father”, and in particular, this lovely, bone-deep version by the Soul Stirrers.

Well, sometimes I feel like
The weight of the world is on my shoulders,
And it’s all in vain
When I begin to feel weak along the way,
You come and You give me strength again.

Oh, Father You’ve been my friend;
Now that I’m in trouble,
Stand by me to the end, oh,
I want You to stand by, stand by me.

From → Music

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

