Skip to content

Morning Song – Home

September 1, 2016

(One in a series of posts inspired by President Obama’s 2016 Spotify Summer Playlist.)

Silly, sweet, goofy and endearing, Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros’ “Home” is just about everything you could want from a neo-hippie love song. It’s got whistling, simple guitar chords, clever yet direct lyrics (“Well, hot and heavy pumpkin pie; Chocolate candy, Jesus Christ; Ain’t nothing please me more than you”), a sing-a-long chorus and unexpected depth.

Also, lovely. Did I mention lovely?

Home, let me come home,
Home is wherever I’m with you;
Our home, yes, I am home,
Home is when I’m alone with you
.

From → Music

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

