Skip to content

Morning Song – Hold My Hand Hold My Heart

July 7, 2016

(One in a series of good songs from movies about fake bands.)

A regular reader writes, “A hidden gem in (That Thing You Do) is the all-black girl group The Chantrellines and their hit ‘Hold My Hand, Hold My Heart’“, and he’s right.

This song is a love letter to The Crystals, The Blossoms, The Ronettes, and dozens of other early 1960s “girl groups”, and the way they gave voice to teenaged love and romance from high atop Phil Spector’s “wall of sound”.

Don’t turn away, please hear what I have to say…
I want you to know when you hold my hand,
You hold my heart.
h/t: CAH
From → Music

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

