Skip to content

Morning Song – I Love A Rainy Night

May 3, 2016

Eddie Rabbitt’s “I Love A Rainy Night” came along right about at the peak of the country-pop crossover surge of the late 1970s-early 1980s, and it’s an object lesson in crafting great popular music from the simplest of instruments and the subtlest of studio effects.

“I Love A Rainy Night” starts out as nothing more than finger snaps and handclaps providing the rhythm behind a strummed acoustic guitar, then gradually builds to a full band. Rabbitt recorded in Nashville but loved the echo effects and vocal layering used by Sun Studios and other Memphis producers, and you can hear that throughout the song too.

I love a rainy night,
I love a rainy night;
I love to hear the thunder
Watch the lightning
When it lights up the sky;
You know it makes me feel good….

From → Music

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

