Skip to content

Afternoon Song – If It Had Not Been For The Lord

February 21, 2016

Some truly great songs just work—whether it’s King David 3,000 years ago singing Psalm 124 about overcoming the enemies who sought to destroy Israel or Helen Baylor,in thanksgiving for her recovery from addiction, singing more or less the same song in the form of Margaret Douroux’s great gospel adaptation, “If It Had Not Been For The Lord”.

He kept my enemies away;
He let the sun shine through a cloudy day.
Oh, then He wrapped me in the cradle of His arms.
When He knew I’d been battered and scarred.

If it had not been for the Lord on my side,
Tell me where would I be? Where would I be?

From → Music

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

