Skip to content

Morning Song – 15 Rounds For Jesus

January 24, 2016

I’m not saying Sister Wyona Carr’s semi-obscure, early 1950s sports-gospel song, “15 Rounds For Jesus”, inspired Muhammad Ali’s famed “rope-a-dope” strategy in his 1974 comeback victory at “The Rumble in the Jungle” over previously undefeated reigning heavyweight champion of the world, George Foreman.

I’m just saying it almost perfectly describes what actually happened in the fight’s fifth round.

I hear the bell now ringing, and Satan jumps up fast;

I let him do his fighting first, I know that he can’t last;

Then I throw a punch for Jesus, and I knock him to the ground;

The bell rang and it saved him then, but I know I won that round….

I’m gonna win this fight for Jesus, and I’m going 15 rounds*.

*It only took eight.

From → Religion

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

