Skip to content

Morning Song – Fight The Power

December 17, 2015

One in a series of songs that Rolling Stone left out of its 2013 “reader’s poll” of the “10 best protest songs of all time”.)

The Isley Brothers’ funk anthem, “Fight The Power”, hit the top 20 on Billboard’s dance (#15), pop (#4) and R&B (#1) charts when it was released in 1975. But, as everyone at Rolling Stone “knows”, “dance” music can’t be “protest” music so it could never make a list of the best protest songs of all time. (Good thing nobody told The Isley Brothers.)

I tried to play my music, they say my music’s too loud;
I tried talking about it, I got the big runaround;
And when I rolled with the punches I got knocked on the ground,
By all this bulls*** going down….

Time is truly wasting, there’s no guarantee;
Smile is in the making, we got to fight the powers that be.

 

From → Music

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

