Skip to content

Morning Song – Signs

October 30, 2015

First, can we agree that Five Man Electrical Band is one of the more quirkily understated and self-referential band names of its era?  (The question is: is it an improvement on The Staccatos, which was the band’s original name?)

Whatever their name, and whether they were clean-cut college kids wearing sweaters and singing doo-wop harmonies, or counter-cultural “long-haired freaky people“, Five Man Electrical Band was a pretty successful Canadian rock band for much of the 1960s and early 1970s.  “Signs” was their one big American hit—appropriately so since it was inspired by an experience lead singer Les Emmerson had while traveling along Route 66 in California.

I got me a pen and a paper and I made up my own little sign;
I said, “Thank you, Lord, for thinking ’bout me. I’m alive and doing fine.”

From → Music

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

